The City College of New York Department of English

Annual Awards

Ceremony



INTRODUCTION:

Elizabeth Mazzola, Professor of English and Chair

OPENING REMARKS:

Vincent Boudreau, President **Tony Liss, Provost** Renata K. Miller, Dean, Humanities & The Arts Nina Capille, Lippman Award Recipient, 2022

THE DORIS LIPPMAN PRIZE IN CREATIVE WRITING

Jo Stein

JUDGED BY: Deborah Himmelfarb PRESENTED BY: Salar Abdoh

THE DAVID DORTORT PRIZE IN NON-FICTION

Beryl Frishtick

JUDGED BY: Amir Ahmadi PRESENTED BY: Salar Abdoh

THE JEROME LOWELL DEJUR AWARD IN FICTION

Isaac Rysdahl

JUDGED BY: Salar Abdoh and Dalia Sofer

PRESENTED BY: Salar Abdoh

THE JEROME LOWELL DEJUR AWARD IN POETRY

Faith Brown

JUDGED AND PRESENTED BY: Michelle Valladares

THE DAVID DORTORT PRIZE IN PLAYWRITING

Emma Miller

JUDGED BY: Marc Palmieri

PRESENTED BY: Michelle Valladares

THE MARILYN STERNGLASS WRITING AWARD

Gloria Nguyen

JUDGED BY: Adam Bubrow and Jennifer Buno

& Erkinaz Shuminov

PRESENTED BY: Jennifer Buno

THE MARILYN STERNGLASS OVERALL MERIT AWARD

Gloria Nguyen

JUDGED BY: Barbara Gleason & Missy Watson

& Maxwell Schnuer

PRESENTED BY: Barbara Gleason

STARK ENGLISH COMPOSITION AWARD IN MEMORY OF MINA SHAUGHNESSY

David Archer JUDGED BY: Olivia Wood

PRESENTED BY: Barbara Gleason

THE NORMAN LEVINE OUTSTANDING TEACHING AWARD

(IN HONOR OF PROF. NORMAN LEVINE)

PRESENTED BY: Barbara Gleason

Gloria Nguyen

TEACHER-WRITER AWARD

(IN HONOR OF PROF. NORMAN KELVIN)

PRESENTED BY: Elizabeth Mazzola

India Choquette & Corinne Shearer

Evan Williams

Evan Williams

Dedipta Bhattacharjee

& Oumou Ly

THE GOODMAN FUND GRANTS

JUDGED AND PRESENTED BY: Grazyna Drabik

Amarantha da Cruz Negrão

THE GOODMAN FUND SHORT STORY AWARD

JUDGED AND PRESENTED BY: Janée Moses

THE GOODMAN FUND POETRY AWARD

JUDGED AND PRESENTED BY: Estha Weiner

THE DAVID MARKOWITZ POETRY AWARD

Sumya Abida

JUDGED AND PRESENTED BY: Pamela Laskin

THE UNDERGRADUATE CHILDREN'S WRITING AWARD

Safiyyah Savage

JUDGED BY: Alyssa Yankwitt PRESENTED BY: Pamela Laskin

THE ESTHER UNGER POETRY PRIZE

JUDGED BY: Elizabeth Starčević & Nicholas Unger

Presented by: Elizabeth Starčević

THE ALLAN DANZIG MEMORIAL AWARD IN VICTORIAN AND ROMANTIC LITERATURE

JUDGED AND PRESENTED BY: Mikhal Dekel DeAsia Samuels

THE MEYER COHN GRADUATE ESSAY AWARD IN LITERATURE

Corinne Shearer

JUDGED AND PRESENTED BY: Mikhal Dekel

THE RIGGS GOLD MEDAL ESSAY AWARD

Oumou Ly

JUDGED AND PRESENTED BY: Harold Veeser & Jennifer Martinez

THE STARK AWARD FOR ESSAY IN LITERATURE

JUDGED AND PRESENTED BY: Kedon Willis

Misha Parisius

THE STARK AWARD IN DRAMA IN MEMORY OF ROSS ALEXANDER

Myra Alperson

JUDGED BY: Brandon Judell PRESENTED BY: Kedon Willis

THE STARK POETRY PRIZE IN MEMORY OF RAYMOND PATTERSON

Susan Chow

JUDGED AND PRESENTED BY: David Groff

THE STARK SHORT FICTION PRIZE (GRADUATE)

Julia Francis

JUDGED AND PRESENTED BY: András Kiséry

THE STARK SHORT FICTION PRIZE (UNDERGRADUATE)

George Moacdieh

JUDGED AND PRESENTED BY: Václav Paris

THE STARK AWARD IN FICTION IN HONOR OF HENRY R. ROTH

Evan Williams

JUDGED AND PRESENTED BY: Mark J. Mirsky

AWARDS FOR GENERAL EXCELLENCE

JUDGED BY: Mack Committee

Elizabeth Mazzola, András Kiséry, Missy Watson, Michelle Valladares, Václav Paris

PRESENTED BY: Elizabeth Mazzola

THE DAVID DORTORT UNDERGRADUATE FELLOWSHIP

THE LILLIAN FEDER SCHOLARSHIP

THE EDWARD C. & RUTH P. MACK GRADUATE FELLOWSHIP

THE PAUL ROBERT MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP FUND

THE RICHARD SHEPHARD AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN WRITING

THE MARGARET HALMY PRIZE

THE ALBERT FRIEND AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN MEDIEVAL STUDIES

Daisy Kirkland

Misha Parisius

DeAsia Samuels

Nazaughn James

Cedar Ecker

Oumou Ly

DeAsia Samuels

ENGLISH HONORS

Helen Bauer Elijah Matos Samuel Nordlinger Adriana Prela Safiyyah Savage

JULIUS & BETTY LEWIS ISAACS SCHOLARSHIP IN LANGUAGE & LITERATURE

Samuel Nordlinger

CLOSING WORDS:

Elizabeth Mazzola, Professor of English and Chair

We would like to thank our donors for generously endowing these prizes.